Encoding Mag Stripe

10 years 11 months ago
mortrude
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
More
Topic Author
Encoding Mag Stripe #795
I want to encode several items per track. I thought I'd use concat but I can only encode 3 vars. How can I encode more than 3?
10 years 11 months ago
Craig Bechelli
Administrator
Administrator
More
Encoding Mag Stripe #796
Hi Mortrude,

When setting the mappings for the magnetic encoding to a concatenation source, you can then set each field to also be a concatenation source.
Are you planning on encoding to the ISO specification ?
If so just be careful that the magnetic encoding string is a valid one.

Craig Bechelli
CardExchange Solutions Support Team

"If you define the problem correctly, you almost have the solution." (Steve Jobs)
8 years 10 months ago
Kevin Eghtesadi
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
More
Encoding Mag Stripe #2085
Hi,

I have a magicard pronto and i'm new to all of this. we have everything done for the card, but now we are trying to encode the magnetic stripe and I have no idea where to even begin with this. I just need to know what codes to put in for the "Start data" and "End Data" section. We are running a business, where when the patients come in, we want to swipe their card and have the system log in their Member number, their Name and a Date possibly with the time too. I know their are three tracks to record on. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Kevin
8 years 10 months ago 8 years 10 months ago by Sergio Agostinho.
Sergio Agostinho
Administrator
Administrator
More
Encoding Mag Stripe #2086
Hi Kevin,

you can find the macro characters at this topic , those characters can be changed in the Printer options dialog/magnetic tab.

In the card definition wizard you need to activate enable magnetic encoding option, and in the mappings tab you need to map the magnetic items to each database field where you want to read the info, respecting the magnetic stripe standards.